If You Had One Hour

03Nov08

Megan and I had a GREAT weekend. Check the photo album (on MySpace) if you wanna see pictures. We laughed, chattered and laughed some more. I truly have the best friend a girl could ask for. After dinner Saturday night she asked me a thought provoking question… “If you had one hour to go back in time, what would you relive?”

Oh man, did that take us far down memory lane! There was that time the “tree fell over the driveway and we couldn’t make it home” or the trip to Greenville for “that concert” or “that night” we should’ve stayed home but didn’t. There were so many moments worth reliving where I wouldn’t change a thing, I’d just go for the ride all over again.

However, there’s one earmark in my past that I will always want to go back to and do differently. It jumps out at me more than any of the mistakes I’ve made and has haunted me for nearly a decade. It was a pivotal moment with a great friend where I said one very stupid thing that caused a ripple effect that would ultimately destroy our relationship. Today, we haven’t spoken in years and not a day goes by that I don’t miss hearing that voice.

I think we can all point to small, seemingly insignificant times in our pasts that if we could only tweak a tiny little bit we could rewrite the story of our lives completely. After all, hindsight is 20/20. Some people say, “I don’t regret anything.” I’m not one of those people. I’ve can name off SEVERAL things I wish I could erase from existence: people I’ve hurt, experiences I should never have had, people I’ve hurt… Did I say that already?

But we move on. We can’t go back, no matter how badly we want to. Sometimes the motion of life goes up and down, but it never goes in reverse. We have to keep moving the bus forward and only occasionally glance in the rearview mirror. Remember the journey, but constantly keep moving toward the destination.

Now if I could only figure out the destination…

No Responses Yet to “If You Had One Hour”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

