Not Your Typical Resolution

02Jan09

Today is January 1st of a new year. Let me just tell you, no tears were shed over the passing of 2008. Sayonara! I’ve never been so happy to have a new year usher itself in. 2008 simply SUCKED and it is a door that I gladly slammed shut at midnight.

I’m really really tired today. Maybe due to the fact that I stayed out cruising in a shiny black Corvette till two a.m. or wrestled with Megan till four. Perhaps the Yuengling played a factor as well. But hey, isn’t New Year’s Day supposed to be spent fighting to keep your eyes open while you scarf down black eyed peas and collard greens? Can anyone explain the black eyed peas thing to me???

I’m in the habit of not making resolutions for the New Year. However this year I’m putting a new spin on the idea and I’m making resolutions for YOU. Don’t disappoint me!

1. First and foremost: no one that I love and care about is allowed to die this year. Got it? I’m serious… If you decided to kick the bucket in the next twelve months, I vow to hunt your sorry soul down in the hereafter just to give you a good ass-kicking. Don’t mess with me on this. I refuse to attend any funerals in 2009. Mark my words.

2. You will not suck me into your drama. If you’re going to act crazy, count me out. I’ve had enough crazy to last a lifetime in 2008. I will sit it out this year.

3. You will have as good of a year in 2009 as I plan on having! I love you all, my family and friends, more than you know. I wish for you peace, love, joy and loads of happiness this year! When the next December 31st rolls around I want to be able to say “CHEERS” to all the wonderful memories of 2009! Ernie and I are now taking orders for “All is Fine in ’09” t-shirts!

In closing, I want to say a HUGE “Thank you!” to all of you that have supported me and my kids this year. Thank you for the flowers, cards, donations, tears, time, nights spent, vacations, beers opened, laughs shared, memories made and for holding me up when I couldn’t stand on my own. I wouldn’t be alive and well in 2009 without you!

What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us. -Ralph Waldo Emerson

No Responses Yet to “Not Your Typical Resolution”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

