Dating “Third Grade” Style

15Jan09

This one is by personal request from a new friend.

She stares at her phone for the second day of his silence and checks for the hundredth time to see if, by some chance, she has missed his call. Surely enough, the last call from his cell was received thirty minutes prior to what she considered a great first date. He promised to call and even expressed interest in seeing her again. Still, he hasn’t called. She texted him the night before to thank him again for dinner and got nothing in response. She knew there was chemistry; it was as thick as the cheese fondue they shared.

“Why hasn’t he called?!”

And then… ring, ring.

It’s him. The second date is on the books.

Maybe she should ask him if she should bring along Candyland or Monopoly for date number two. Heck, I could send my two kids along with her so they can challenge him to a death match of Hungry Hungry Hippos. Such childishness…

Did you know that there are some guys that have dating and calling rules? They have rules like waiting for two days to call a girl post-first date or not texting back to keep her in suspense. Granted, we can all appreciate a man that has a life, but for the love of God, we all know you got the message and it’s just rude to not answer. I for one, refuse to date rude men. Trust me, you are not THAT special.

They say it’s all about balancing the bad boy/nice guy image to keep a girl interested. Ladies, I don’t know about you, but I happen to like it when I think a guy is interested in me and that alone is enough to keep me interested in him. Call me crazy, but I like to be flattered by attention and it annoys the piss out of me to feel blown off. Maybe I’m the exception to the rule (once again), but I don’t think so. I don’t have time to give myself a mental pep-talk every time I start to date someone new. Either it clicks or it doesn’t. If it does, then great! I’ll give it my full attention. If it doesn’t, then I’ll move on and maybe walk away with a new friend.

Dating should be fun and exhilarating and if it’s not, then DATE SOMEONE ELSE! Life is way too short for such nonsense. Isn’t it better to have a relationship that is based on honesty and sincerity from the very beginning? I mean, if you’ve just met someone and they feel the need to screw around with your emotions before you even REALLY get to know them, are they really someone you want to trust with your heart?

Red Flag. ‘Nuff said.

Being that I am a card-carrying member of the VaJayJay club, I can only give a very opinionated female perspective on this subject. Any guys wanna take a stab at it? And yes… I know we (women) are all crazy. LOL

2 Responses to “Dating “Third Grade” Style”

  1. dont we girls have rules too? no kissing on the first date n other things like that? but true. dating is a fun game and not a war. strategy kept aside, there should be an element of fun to it. interesting read 🙂

    • Oh of course we have rules too! We just justify them with terms like “lady-like” and “respectable”. lol


Leave a Reply

