Eat, Pray, Love… Words to Love By

21Jan09

This is a quote from one of my favorite books of all time, Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  It got a lot of attention on a bulletin I recently posted and I couldn’t help but blog about it. 

“I have a history of making decisions very quickly about men. I have always fallen in love fast and without measuring risks. I have a tendency not only to see the best in everyone, but to assume that everyone is emotionally capable of reaching his highest potential. I have fallen in love more times than I care to count with the highest potential of a man, rather than with the man himself, and then I have hung on to the relationship for a long time (sometimes far too long) waiting for the man to ascend to his own greatness. Many times in romance I have been the victim of my own optimism.”

When I first read this book, I called my best friend immediately when I found this paragraph.  When I finished she said, “Read it again.”

I thought maybe she hadn’t caught it all the first time so I obliged.

When I finished it the second time she repeated, “Read it again.”

“Why?” I asked sort of puzzled.

“I wanna make sure you got it,” she told me.  “That is the closest description of your love life that I’ve ever heard.”

She was right.  I’ve been guilty of doing this more times than I care to think about.  I wish someone had recommended this book to me about ten years ago before I made life altering decisions about my love life.  With that said, I will never regret the paths that I’ve chosen to take because at the end of the day I have two great children that I wouldn’t trade for any great love in this world.  However, in moving forward I always keep this revelation close to my heart and my ever-raging fantasy life.

Measuring risk in love is something incredibly new to me.  It’s hard in the beginning of a great relationship to think about all of the sacrifices and work that any couple must endure to live “happily ever after.”  Forever is a really really long time to spend with someone.

I challenge myself and I challenge you:

·         to never enter into love (particularly marriage) with rose-colored blinders on


·         to not get so caught up in the whirlwind of romance that we fail to recognize what kind of future we’re really getting ourselves into


·         to love those we are with for who they are today and when we can do that to love fiercely and without reservation


This is a purely a rhetorical question but are you really in love or are you be victimized by your own optimism?  I wonder if the divorce rate would plummet if we all took the time to screw our own heads on straight before we commit ourselves to another person.

9 Responses to “Eat, Pray, Love… Words to Love By”

  1. 1 Lanee

    Sometimes I worry if we married out of love, lust or loneilness. I have often question my relationship and still have not come out with the right answer. Thanks for this insight.

    • Good luck with whatever you do. I don’t know your situation, but I was married once upon a time and my mother gave me some great words of wisdom when I was separated. “You didn’t marry the wrong person, you didn’t make a mistake. You made a commitment. If commitment was always easy they would’ve left out the ‘for better or for worse’ part.” Thanks for reading!

  2. 3 letters2soulmate

    i love “eat, pray, love” and i remember reading this quote. love is indeed crazy and complicated but also very exciting. wonderful blog!
    cheers, R

    • There are so many priceless gems in that book. I’m sure this won’t be the last Gilbert-spin that I write! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. 5 annieg

    ahh i am going to show this entry to a friend. or perhaps , i should jsut give her the book? nice blog 🙂

  4. 8 SheWhoWouldPrevail

    Great writing. And I definitely have to read the book..!


Leave a Reply

