I Have New Friends :: Smith and Wesson

03Feb09

Sorry about all the blog confusion yesterday.  I was up writing at around 4AM and if you know me at all, you know that my brain doesn’t fire on all cylinders anytime before 10AM.  After rethinking my early morning ramblings I decided to privatize the blog.  Not just EVERYTHING should be laid out for all of the cyber-world to read.  However, I did decide to rewrite it today because I think we could all have something to learn from my experiences this past week, so here goes…

Early early yesterday morning I was awoken from a dead sleep to the sound of what I thought was my alarm clock and my dogs anxious to get out of the house and go potty.  I glanced at the clock and it read 2:21AM.  It was still very dark outside.  I suddenly realized that my clock was silent and the beeping that roused me were the warning bells on my house alarm.  Still too asleep to panic or realize what was going on, I stumbled out into the living room just as the alarm sounded full blast through the neighborhood.  My back door was standing wide open. 

Without a thought in my comatose brain, I pushed the door closed and shut down the alarm.  After a glance around the house, I returned to my bed and texted my boyfriend, “Remind me to get you to fix my deadbolt the next time you’re here.  My back door keeps popping open.”  As I pressed send there was a crash on my back porch, just outside my bedroom window. 

Wide awake now, I jumped back up out of bed and went back to the main part of the house.

Jack and Sara, the two “Jack Russell” mixed puppies I adopted last year were on full alert.  (I use “quote marks” because if you’ve ever met Jack and Sara, you know they are about as much “Jack Russell” as I am “Cambodian”.)   



I opened Sara’s cage and the back door and let her take off after the assailant.  I dialed 911.

The police arrived just as Sara returned and trotted back to her cage.  Sadly, her mouth was free of flesh, blood and bone.  The cops didn’t find whoever it was; only muddy footprints in the ground.  Yikes.  I liked my “wind” theory better. 

In the meantime, I’ve made some new friends.  Their names are Smith and Wesson. 



Note to friends… use caution if you show up at my doorstep in the middle of the night.  It might be best to call first.

Note to foes… don’t f-around and disturb the sleep of the mama with the alarm system and pit bulls. She’s locked, loaded and ready to pop a cap in your ass if you dare enter her home again.

Shameless Self-Promo : : Subscribe to My Blog

No Responses Yet to “I Have New Friends :: Smith and Wesson”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

