An Occasion for Genuinely Tiny Knickers

23Feb09

Last night I caught the last hour of the Oscars. “I would like to thank the Academy for Hugh Jackman being chosen to host this year. Next year, I would appreciate seeing him again. Maybe he could go for a little less bow-tie and a little more Wolverine. That would definitely help me to remember to set my DVR.”

I love the part of the show each year (that I remember to watch), where they play the clips from movies past. Last night I fell asleep with clips from the classics like Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Titanic and Gone with the Wind pleasantly scrolling through my overactive imagination. Has love like that ever existed in real life?

On second thought the Gone with the Wind ending is probably close to reality. At least my reality. I can empathize with Scarlett, although I hope I’m not nearly as much of a whiney little brat. My bad Karma is probably going to kick me in the ass when I finally look at the man I love and say, “I’ve grown up. I finally know what I want. I love you and want to be with you.” To which, he’ll say, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.” End Scene.

BUT…

If I get to pick my Hollywood Happy Ending, I would have to go with Bridget Jones’ Diary. Granted, it was no Oscar winner, but hell I’ve never heard of more than half the movies that get those golden little statues. I mean what was that slumdog movie about anyway? Sidetracked sorry… favorite movie love quote… here goes:

Mark Darcy: I don’t think you’re an idiot at all. I mean, there are elements of the ridiculous about you. Your mother’s pretty interesting. And you really are an appallingly bad public speaker. And, um, you tend to let whatever’s in your head come out of your mouth without much consideration of the consequences. I realize that when I met you at the Turkey Curry Buffet I was unforgivably rude… and wearing a reindeer jumper that my mother had given me the day before. But the thing is, um, what I’m trying to say, very inarticulately, is that, um, in fact, perhaps despite appearances, I like you. Very much.

Bridget Jones: [Bitterly] Apart from the smoking and the drinking and the vulgar mother and… ah, the verbal diarrhea…

Mark Darcy: No, I mean I like you very much. Just as you are.

Anyone else find it kind of funny that the “L” word isn’t even used in this little outtake? I’m laughing on my side of the computer screen.

What’s even more humorous is that my current boyfriend admittedly “hates” Renée Zellweger so I’m sure he’s never even seen this movie. I’m nothing if not ironic. However, he is taking me to Vegas this week and… This is an occasion for genuinely tiny knickers. J

….

*Mom… that’s another quote from the movie. Don’t worry about my knickers.*

Shameless Self-Promo : : Subscribe to My Blog

One Response to “An Occasion for Genuinely Tiny Knickers”

  1. hope u have a good trip 🙂


Leave a Reply

