Another Birthday Saga in the Making

18May09

Birthdays have always been a big deal in my family. Not one birthday in my life has passed without all of the birthday staples: friends, cake, ice cream, and presents. I love any excuse for a party and especially love MYSELF being the excuse. Most normal people (I think) sit back and wait to see if anyone plans anything special to celebrate their big day, but not me. I want to do it all, including sometimes baking my own cake! (I realize that this further confirms my skewed level of normality.) My reasoning is simple. It’s my big day and I want to do exactly what I want for MY DAY, so who better to plan it than MYSELF? Sure, this might sound a little arrogant and selfish, but I grant myself this selfishness one day out of 364, so back off! J

I’m a holiday baby. I was born on the 26th of May (write it down, I expect a card) and the 26th always falls right around Memorial Day weekend. If I wasn’t as deeply grateful as I am for the sacrifices made by our military for my freedom and safety, I would almost joke that my birthday is a National Holiday. However, out of respect for our armed forces that are way more badass than I’ll ever be, I’ll just be honored to be celebrated in general proximity to their holiday and extremely grateful for my 3 day birthday weekend every year. My big weekend is usually always perfect weather, hot enough for swimming but cool enough to want to be outside. People are by default friendly and fun loving and Anheuser-Busch goes into over-production mode for party-goers. It’s the perfect time to celebrate.

You’re all jealous now aren’t you? I can see you there considering how poor it is to be born on some ordinary date in March that typically always falls on a rainy Monday when the coworkers are cranky and oblivious that anything is special in your world. Well, cheer up because I haven’t told you about the Birthday Curse.

It all began when I turned 21. This is supposed to be the monument of all monumental birthdays, correct? I planned my perfect weekend for months. My closest friends from all over the US were going to gather at a cabin in the Smokey Mountains. We had a hot tub, pool table, grilling deck, and were far enough on top of the mountain to be as loud and obnoxious as we wanted. Great plan, right? Negative. It was a disaster. From the moment we all unpacked there were horrendous fights and I lost one of my most valued friendships of all time that weekend. The heated confrontations weren’t the worst of the drama either. Another friend of mine had to be taken to the hospital for fear of a heart attack, someone else got a stomach virus and to top it off I fell and cracked my head on the hot tub – not once, but twice. The Birthday Curse had commenced.

Every birthday since has been become a mini-crusade to try to recoup for the tragedies of my 21st but every celebration has failed incredibly. I’ve had more trips to the hospital, friendly-fire wars and family meltdowns than any once person should ever have to endure.

-JUMP TO THE PRESENT-

I wrote that part of the blog last year after seemingly breaking The Birthday Curse. My 27TH birthday arrived and departed without incident and a wonderful time was had by all. Then four days later was my husband’s car accident, forever adding another layer of shadows around my special day. As that anniversary grows nearer, my loved ones are pretty concerned with keeping me in good spirits and now we find ourselves planning another birthday Memorial Day weekend.

In true eL. fashion… it’s already shaping up to be SPECTACULAR! My best friend Megan and I are taking the kids to the beach! All of the stars seemed to align to make this trip possible. Even the beautiful condo we rented was ridiculously affordable. I booked the trip and told the kids. “WOOHOO!!! We’re going to the beach!!!”

Then I get a phone call from Megan and by the tone of her voice I knew bad news was in tow. “I know why our condo was so affordable.”

“Oh no.”

“It’s Black Bike Week 2009 that weekend,” she said.

*insert freaky JAWS baseline here*

I HAVE THE WORST LUCK ON THE PLANET!!!!

Why is this such a big deal? The city of Myrtle Beach has tried banning this annual gathering for YEARS. Below is a screen shot of one of their many websites. If you’re really brave, do a Google image search. Just remember I’m taking my 3 & 5 year old children on this trip.

 

When I called the condo company back about rescheduling my trip, they actually laughed at me.

I’m sure there will be plenty of blog material next week. Stay tuned.

No Responses Yet to “Another Birthday Saga in the Making”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

