Lights Will Guide You Home

07Jun09
There are 18 days, 7 hours, 41 minutes and 16 seconds until my last day at work. (Not that I’m counting or anything.) Most of you will remember that six months ago I handed in my resignation letter to my employer of ten years. My job has been good to me, paid me relatively well, and has seen me through some of the darkest days of my life.
Once upon a time, I thought that I would never leave the comforts of my office. Not because I felt trapped, but because I never saw any reason to. Then came the fateful day when I received the phone call that my husband would never reach home after a long night of work. It was a year ago, this past Sunday, for those of you who have been wondering why I have been MIA from the internet recently. He was 25 years old, married for three short years, and had two babies waiting for him to come home and take them swimming. Our daughter was four and our son was two. Robert’s life was just beginning when it came to an unfair and abrupt end.
That horrible accident has made me question everything about my life. What if one day I don’t make it home from work? Other than creating the two most amazing kids on the planet, have I done anything with my life that I’m really proud of? The answer was no.
For years I have wanted to go back to school, but there simply aren’t enough hours in the day to go to school, keep office hours, and be a single mom. So back in January, I handed in my resignation letter citing my last day as June 26th. Do you think they have yet to find my replacement? He, he, he. That’s beside the point. I haven’t had one moment of hesitation until the past couple of weeks. Now that the fateful day is drawing near my knees are beginning to shake a little. Am I really doing the right thing? Am I stupid? Am I just being selfish? What if something catastrophic happens? What if… I FAIL?
And high up above or down below…. When you’re too in love to let it go
If you never try you’ll never know… Just what you’re worth
The shaky knees have passed. I know I’m making the right decision. After all, if I never try – I’ll never know. The Early Retirement Party is still on. If you live in Nashville and want an invite, put June 26th on your calendar and hit me up for the details.
This one’s for you sister… the Coldplay concert was FREAKING AMAZING.
No Responses Yet to “Lights Will Guide You Home”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

