Biting Your Toenails

10Jul09

willIsn’t life supposed to calm down after you retire?  I am now in week two of my “retirement” and if anything, I seem to have less time than when I was logging forty hours a week in my office.  How is that possible?  In the past fourteen days I have visited five states, caught up with umpteen family members, read a book, slacked off at the gym, watched about twenty movies, WORKED, and maintained a sparkling clean home.  OK… the last part is a bit of stretch, but at the moment it is sparkling clean!

I always used to think I’d go crazy being bored at home as a full time mom.  I realize now what a vacation my JOB really was!  I take my fictitious hat off to all you stay at home parents out there.  You certainly don’t get enough credit.

I have enjoyed the constant company of my kids far more than I could’ve ever imagined.  You really should just be jealous because I simply have the funniest, cutest and smartest children ever conceived.  They teach me so much about life and about the person I want to be.  The lessons learned through the experience of children are absolutely priceless.  There is no university that compares with parenthood.

Patience is a CHOICE.  It is far easier to laugh and get over it, than it is to get upset.

No one snuggles better than a three year old.

If you want to know honestly how you are doing life, ask a preschooler their opinion of you.

You know to pass up your Food Network dream when your kid opts for a spanking and early bedtime rather than eat.

You should always keep your toenails short, even if it means biting them.  You might trip over them if you don’t. 

I’m sure there will be many more lessons to come… stay tuned.  This could get interesting.

No Responses Yet to “Biting Your Toenails”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

