Confessions of a Harry Potter Junkie

18Jul09

My boyfriend thinks I’m crazy. It is for him and all of you other Muggles out there that I write this. (If you don’t know what a Muggle is, this blog is for you.)

My name is eL., and I am a Potter-holic. It has been fourteen hours since my last magical indulgence.

In 2005, I wasn’t so different from the rest of you. Harry Potter was a kid’s book. I’d watched the second movie with my nephew and was unimpressed. I scoffed and rolled my eyes at adults who had their noses stuck in the latest novel, The Half Blood Prince. Could it possibly be true that grown-ups were dressing up as wizards and witches and showing up at public events like a bunch of Trekkies with magic wands? BAHAHAHA!

And then I met a true Potter-Head.

My friend Tiffany showed up at work one day wearing a purple shirt with “9 & ¾” on it. I inquired about this odd choice of apparel and she rattled off something about a Hogwarts train. Upon noticing the clueless expression on my face, she gave me a horrified look that shouted “You’re not one of us!” The next day, I was greeted with Harry Potter books one and two on my desk with a note that said, “Get through these two and I’ll bring you the third one.”

Being that I didn’t have anything better to do at the time, I indulged her request and began my journey into Hogwarts. By the end of book three, The Prisoner of Azkaban, I was hooked.

Since 2005, I’ve read all of the books once (at least) and own all of the movies. The entire series is neatly arranged in hard back in a prominent place on my bookshelf and I frequently listen to them on audio while I run at the gym.  For the release of final book, The Deathly Hallows, I was among the goons standing in line at midnight at Barnes and Noble, wearing my “Trust Snape!” sticker as I waited to receive my pre-ordered copy of the book.  Many pots of coffee and sixteen hours later, I teared up as I closed the final chapter on Harry Potter.  Still, on a scale of one to ten in Potter Mania, I would say I’m only a seven. Tiffany is a ten… and some days maybe an eleven.

 

“Why?” You might ask. 
With one leap from the train station platform 9 & ¾, endless adventures and possibilities far away from the realities of parenting, jobs, divorce, widowhood and the failing economy exist. For those few days, I can sip the butterbeer, snack on Chocolate Frogs, wave my magic wand and make the real world be silent. 
I’m planning on writing my thoughts on The Half Blood prince movie. Until then maybe it’s time for you to unlock a new adventure.

“Alohomora!”
 
*Thank you friends for letting me steal your pictures!*
3 Responses to “Confessions of a Harry Potter Junkie”

  1. 1 Chuck

    Took the Binkster to see the latest installment and I wasn’t too psyched about it but she dug it and was even crying at one point. While I probably will never read the books, I did learn one important thing from the movie… you shouldn’t have trusted Snape. What a bastard.

  2. I actually really liked this Harry Potter movie, i do not get tired of seeing the next chapter in the life of a wizard.


Leave a Reply

