The MySpace Exodus

04Aug09

After many years on MySpace, my account is closed.  I made no production about leaving, told no one, simply sat down at the computer and hit the “delete” key.  The time for my departure arrived after much thought and consideration.  It was a bittersweet decision and while I do miss my friends I made there, I know that closing the MySpace chapter is a good thing.

In 2005, MySpace was in full force.  Being that my address was not “Under a Rock, TN” I had heard of the site but had no desire to join in.  My days consisted of diapers, HTML and PHP coding and wedding plans.  Social networking was not on my radar.  While planning my New Year’s Eve wedding, I encountered a problem.  The hotel where I wanted to have my reception was booked by another couple.  It was on a popular wedding message board that I met Jenny, the bride who stole my Sheraton Hotel.  Anti-Bridezillas that we were, Jenny and I became instant friends comparing notes, styles, colors and party favors.  It was Jenny who invited me to MySpace to share photos.  Reluctantly, after her fifth request, I signed up.

The first year of my MySpace existence consisted of reconnecting with old friends and sharing pictures of the baby with my out of state family members.  In 2006, I discovered blogging.  All of my life I had been a closet writer, making up stories and keeping them locked away in notebooks for my own personal enjoyment.  Never had I thought about writing for other people until MySpace.  In the past 3 years I have posted hundreds of blogs for what became thousands of readers.  I was humbled by the fact that anyone would relate to my senseless ramblings. 

My reasons for leaving were very personal, confirmed by the fact that blogging on MySpace has become a joke over the past year.  I will still read my favorite bloggers through RSS, but I will miss our interactions, bantering, inside jokes and Peanut Cartoons.  I hope that my friends will find their way to Impacting Journey and drop a note to say “hello” from time to time. 

What’s next for eL.?  Well, I plan to go underground for a while and focus on doing what MySpace helped me to become passionate about… writing.  Maybe you’ll see me on Borders.com or NYTimes.com someday.  In the meantime, if you’re on MySpace and you see Jenny, give her this web address – I forgot to tell her I was leaving.  🙂

22 Responses to “The MySpace Exodus”

  1. Well, I’m glad your looking for your Dharma. I liked your blogs from the very first time I read them, you are very talented. When you decide to commit your musings and anecdotes to paper/screen, I’ll be glad to read them. In the mean, I hope you’ll be tweeting your little heart out and continuing to provide thought-provoking fare.

    Oh, did you hear, Gina Carano is #15 on the Maxim Hot 100 for 2009. =) Shhh! Don’t tell Lacii!

    -ere’bodee’s favorite mega, blogninja

    • 2 eL.

      I hope Lacii shows up here and busts you. LMAO

      You’ll be on the list to receive the first of my printed novels. 🙂

      • 3 Lacii

        Mhm…

        Thanks for the tip-off eL… he can consider his behind well and truly BUSTED!

        ~xxx~

  2. 4 Ashley

    I’m just glad that you are my friend, and I can still read your wonderful ramblings!
    If it weren’t for my teenager, I would have deleted my MS account a long time ago.
    Keep up the writing; you have it in you, and not everyone can say that. Do that thing you do; I’ll still be reading and leaving goofy comments with silly smileys behind them:)

    • 5 eL.

      I pimped your blog again today, this time on FB. 🙂 Thanks for all the love and support!

  3. 6 Chuck

    I actually was just browsing myspace for local chicks and found you. Checked out your profile and got completely drawn in by your writing. I never stood a chance. The rest is just tequila and potty humor-fueled history. I’m glad that you’re my friend.

    • 7 eL.

      I’m glad you’re my friend too! You never told me you met me on a singles search! LOL That’s kinda funny!

  4. eL, your life has been such a journey since you joined myspace! As sad as I am to see you go – I am so much happier to see you grow. I wish you the absolute best in your new ventures, and as long as you’ll have me, I’ll be here cheering you on! You have a knack for writing, an knack for many things, I suspect. 🙂

    • 9 eL.

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad that we found each other over here and I hope that we may still share in the journey together!

  5. 10 Chuck

    Oops…

    Well I just deleted my myspace page too. The exodus continues.

  6. Well, eL… If we can say anything it seems that it doesn’t matter where you speak, the conversation seems to have come to you. I read somewhere about the concept of “Digital Tribes”, that you have to find yours and engage, share, connect. Looks like you are a high priestess of sorts. We should make you a headdress! LOL… anyway, I’m a part of yours now, and I’m notoriously hard to shake. =) Best to you…

    • 13 eL.

      I like the idea of a headdress. And an enchanted walking stick. Can you arrange that, oh faithful follower? LMAO

  7. 14 Lacii

    eL… I was sad to learn that you had deleted your Myspace page, but even without knowing all of your reasons, I can’t say that I don’t understand your choice. At the end of the day we have to do whatever feels right for ourselves and I’m glad that you are continuing to make the decisions that you feel are right for eL.

    I *am* sorry that I didn’t become one of your readers on Myspace a lot earlier than I did, but you’re not dropping off the face of the planet, so I will follow your wonderful writings no matter where you post them.

    Lots of love and best wishes for the future =)

    • 15 eL.

      Lacii, you are a blessing to know and I am certainly glad that we won’t be losing touch.

  8. My High Priestess is a cruel mistress! I’ve been sacrificed! LOL

  9. You know, it had gotten to where I only went on MySpace when I got an e-mail that you’d posted a blog! I was thinking that I hadn’t gotten one of those e-mails for a while, and I came here to see what you’re up to. I’ve added this site to my reader (thought I had before, guess not), so I’ll still be reading. You are actually the first blog I started reading regularly, and I still love your posts!

    • Janet, you just made my day! Thank you sooooo much!

      I had enough of the ‘Space and needed a change. I’ll be posting regularly here. (Regularly meaning when I have time, something to say, no kids to referee…. etc, etc, etc.) LOL

  10. 20 Saint Anger

    I miss the Peanut cartoons,eL.


Leave a Reply

